Last Updated:

Six PMs to attend India lead SCO Heads of Government Summit

The Prime Ministers of Russia, China, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, and the Republic of Tajikistan will attend the summit of the Heads of Govts. of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation on Monday. However, the Islamic Republic of Pakistan can in all probability be represented by its parliamentary secretary for external affairs, the Ministry of Exterior Affairs (MEA) has mentioned.

India will host the Heads of Govts (HoG) council meeting of the eight-nation Shanghai Cooperation Organisation on Monday, however, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will not attend the meeting. The MEA said Honourable VP- Venkaiah Naidu can chair the nineteenth meeting of the SCO Council of Heads of Govts. that is control annually with attention on trade and economic agenda of the organisation. The Asian nation is hosting the summit for the primary time once it gained full membership of the potent grouping in 2017. The summit can present itself within the virtual format.

Apart from the eight SCO Member States, the meeting on Monday are going to be attended by four Observer States of the SCO: Including the President of Afghanistan Ashraf Ghani, the first Vice president of Iran, the Prime Minister of European Nation- Belarus, and also the Deputy Prime Minister of Mongolia. Turkmenia has been invited as a Special Guest by India and can be represented by the Deputy Chairman of the Cupboard of Ministers.

"We hope that India's initiatives won't only be useful for the SCO Member States in overcoming the economic challenges display by the COVID-19 pandemic but also will signal our continuing commitment to strengthening the organisation," the MEA said.

India has also offered to make and chair a brand new special unit on startups and innovation and to line up a brand new expert unit on cooperation in traditional medicine.